Collaborative CRISP

Collaborative CRISP extends the established Cross Industry Standard Process for Data Mining (CRISP-DM), taking into account the whole process of introducing data science as a strategic ability into an organization.

CRISP-DM entirely takes a data scientist's perspective on a project to be implemented. However, when introducing data science and especially machine learning into an organization, it is necessary to take a step back and look at the bigger picture: corporate structure and social aspects are just as important as the purely technical side of things. Hence, Collaborative CRISP expands the Data Science Loop, adding areas for project management and social integration.

image/svg+xmlUse CaseIdentification DataProviding InfrastructureIdentification BusinessUnderstanding DataUnderstanding DataPreparation Modeling Deployment Evaluation Gain Acceptance MonitorAcceptance

Select an individual phase by clicking on it to get more detailed information.

Project Management – Use Case Identification

Identification and evaluation of use cases play a key factor in the successful implementation of data science in your business. The first challenge here is to spread the Predictive Mindset among the employees in order to enable them to see the new possibilities that the implementation of data science will bring. The next step is to select the most promising projects, i.e. those that have the best cost-benefit assessment, simple infrastructure, and are most likely to succeed.

During implementation, several use cases should be considered, as it is difficult to draw conclusions and make decisions about the technology’s applicability from just one example. Using several, it is possible to learn from failures and experience first-hand successes as positive reinforcement, generating a learning curve.

 

Project Management – Data Providing

Once a use case has been determined, the collaborative process between data scientist and professional experts begins. They will select data sets that seem most useful in finding a solution. This generates an overall picture showing what possibly relevant information is available. The data sets are assessed in regards to presumed relevance, accessibility and complexity of analysis. It is the management’s task to ensure that other departments can and do help by providing semantics and access to the data.

 

Project Management – Infrastructure Identification

Depending on the size and nature of the problem and the identified data, the infrastructure is chosen to support an efficient analysis while minimizing the necessary infrastructural effort. This includes the infrastructure for storing the data as well as for processing it.

For complex problems where the quality of the analysis is unpredictable, it is possible to divide the analysis into several phases, each using different infrastructures. The phases are divided in a way that will produce the best possible results on least cost and effort, and that enables easy data migration to the next, more complex infrastructure.

 

Data Science Loop – Business Understanding

During this initial phase of the data science part of the project, the data scientist focuses on understanding the project objectives and requirements from a business perspective. What is the economic challenge and what should the solution take into account? What is required to be able to integrate the solution into business processes?

From these questions, the data scientist forms a first outline on how to reach the project’s goals. During this phase, the essential quality criteria for a successful project outcome as well as the deployment prospects of the project are determined in coordination with representatives of the management.

Data Science Loop – Data Understanding

In this phase, the data scientist gets acquainted with the data provided and, if necessary, uncover data quality problems. At the same time, the data scientist can test his understanding of the business’ problems, assessing them with the received data. This interpretation of the data can often lead to an additional improvement in the understanding of the processes involved, on part of the data scientist and often of other stakeholders involved.

 

Data Science Loop – Data Preparation

After understanding the data, the data scientist goes through the processing steps necessary to generate suitable situational profiles from the raw data that can be used to train predictive models. The data preparation is adapted according to the applied model, meaning it is carried out repeatedly. It comprises data and feature selection as well as transformation, aggregation and editing data.

 

Data Science Loop – Modeling

In this phase, various modeling techniques are applied and tested and their parameters are calibrated to optimal values. Some techniques have specific requirements on the form of data, therefore, stepping back to the data preparation phase is often necessary.

 

Data Science Loop – Evaluation

At this stage in the project, a model that appears to have high quality has been found. Before proceeding to the final deployment of the model, it is important to more thoroughly evaluate the model and its construction and to test models on independent data not used during training, in order to ensure it will achieve the expected quality and is able to indeed solve the initial business problems.

 

Data Science Loop – Deployment

The deployment of a project will integrate the project results into the business operations. Without a deployment, the project will not generate any use and must be deemed a failure. Deployment can be as simple as a regular scoring, web service deployment or a more complex big data deployment. This also covers possible end user interfaces for controlling the underlying data science algorithms.

 

Social Integration – Gain Acceptance

A solution is helpful only when put into practice. As employing data science technologies requires the fundamental change in thinking described with the Predictive Mindset, they are often rejected. In this phase, end users are enabled through training to actively participate in the project, bring forth their own ideas, and learn to trust the technologies, in short establishing the Predictive Mindset. Most importantly, it covers the practical integration into the end users’ work processes. In order to avoid rejection it is essential to leave the end user in control.

 

Social Integration – Monitor Acceptance

The deployment does not end the data science project. On the one hand, the predictions can always be improved in many aspects, as is shown in the data science loop, on the other hand, the end users gain more and more experience with the technology, enabling them to refine the original Uses Cases. Often this leads to adjusting the specifications for the integration into work processes as well as for the quality criteria for the predictions. Therefore, the end users will still need a data scientist’s guidance and support while the data scientist needs the domain expertise to provide new use cases.

Collaborative CRISP

Mit Collaborative CRISP wird der Cross Industry Standard für Data Mining (CRISP-DM) erweitert, um den gesamten Prozess der Einführung von Data Science als strategische Fähigkeit in Organisationen abzubilden.

CRISP-DM sieht ein Data Science Projekt aus den Augen eines Data Scientist. Bei der Einführung in eine Organisations sollte allerdings ein Blick auf das große Gesamtbild geworfen werden, um neben den technischen Aspekten auch die Unternehmensstruktur und die sozialen Aspekte miteinzubeziehen. Daher erweitert Collaborative CRISP den Data Science Loop um Bereiche für Projektmanagement und soziale Integration.

image/svg+xmlUse CaseIdentification DataProviding InfrastructureIdentification BusinessUnderstanding DataUnderstanding DataPreparation Modeling Deployment Evaluation Gain Acceptance MonitorAcceptance

Klicken Sie auf die einzelnen Phasen, um detaillierte Informationen zu der jeweiligen Phase zu bekommen.

Project Management – Use Case Identification

Die Identifikation und Bewertung von Use Cases im Unternehmen stellen eine Schlüsselrolle für den Erfolg der Etablierung von Data Science im Unternehmen dar. Hier ist die Herausforderung zunächst, dass Predictive Mindset im Unternehmen weit genug zu verbreiten, damit die mit der Einführung von Data Science einhergehenden neuen Möglichkeiten überhaupt erkannt werden. Dann gilt es, die vielversprechendsten Projekte auszuwählen, also Projekte mit hohem Nutzen bei geringst möglichem Aufwand, einfacher Infrastruktur und höchster Erfolgswahrscheinlichkeit.

Bei der Etablierung sollten mehrere Use Cases behandelt werden, denn aus einem Beispiel kann man nicht lernen und keine Entscheidung über den weiteren Einsatz der Technik treffen. Mit mehreren Use Cases kann eine Lernkuve entstehen, bei der man aus Misserfolgen lernt und Erfolge als positive Verstärkung erfährt.

Project Management – Data Providing

Sobald ein Use Case ausgewählt wurde, erfolgt ein kollaborativer Prozess zwischen Data Scientists und Fachexperten, um Datensätze auszuwählen, die für die Lösung hilfreich sein können. Daraus entsteht das Gesamtbild, welche Informationen zur Verfügung stehen, die für die Probleme des Use Cases relevant sein könnten. Die Datensätze werden nach vermuteter Relevanz, Zugänglichkeit und Analysekomplexität bewertet. Es ist Aufgabe des Managements, dafür zu sorgen, dass andere Abteilungen beim Herstellen des praktischen und technischen Zugangs zu den Daten behilflich sein können und sind.

Project Management – Infrastructure Identification

Je nach Größe und Art des Problems sowie der identifizierten Datenbestände wird die Infrastruktur identifiziert, die eine effiziente Analyse mit minimalem Aufwand ermöglicht. Dies betrifft sowohl die Infrastruktur für die Datenhaltung als auch für die Berechnung der Analyse.

Bei komplexen Problemen mit unabsehbarer Analysequalität kann die Analyse in mehrere Phasen unterteilt werden, in denen jeweils unterschiedliche Infrastrukturen verwendet werden. Die Phasen sind so unterteilt, dass zunächst mit minimalem Aufwand der maximale Nutzen erzeugt werden kann und die Ergebnisse beim Umzug auf die nächst aufwändigere Infrastruktur weiter verwendet werden können.

Data Science Loop – Business Understanding

Während dieser ersten Phase des Data Science Loops lernt der Data Scientist in einem kollaborativen Prozess, die Projektziele und -anforderungen aus wirtschaftlicher Sicht zu verstehen. Was ist das wirtschaftliche Problem und was gilt es bei der Lösung zu berücksichtigen? Welche Anforderungen gibt es, damit die Lösung in Geschäftsprozesse integriert werden kann?

Daraus leitet er einen ersten Plan zum Erreichen der Projektziele ab. In Absprache mit Vertretern des Managements werden in dieser Phase auch die wesentlichen Gütekriterien für den Projekterfolg festgelegt und die Deploymentperspektive der Projektergebnisse geklärt.

Data Science Loop – Data Understanding

Diese Phase dient dem Data Scientist dazu, sich mit den bereitgestellten Daten vertraut zu machen und gegebenenfalls Qualtitätsprobleme der Daten aufzudecken. Gleichzeitig testet der Data Scientist sein Verständnis der Businessprobleme, indem er diese anhand der erhaltenen Daten untersucht. Durch die Interpretation der Daten kommt es häufig zu einer nachträglichen Verbesserung des Verständnisses für die Prozessabläufe auf Seiten des Data Scientists und oft auch bei allen anderen Beteiligten.

Data Science Loop – Data Preparation

In dieser Phase führt der Data Scientist alle Verarbeitungsschritte durch, die notwendig sind, um für das Training von prädiktiven Modellen geeignete Situationsprofile aus den Rohdaten zu generieren. Die Datenaufbereitung wird abhängig vom verwendeten Modell angepasst, sodass sie wiederholt ausgeführt wird. Sie umfasst zum Beispiel Schritte zur Auswahl der Daten und Feature Selection, aber auch die Transformation, Aggregierung und Aufbereitung der Daten.

Data Science Loop – Modeling

In dieser Phase werden unterschiedliche Algorithmen zur Modellierung des Problems angewendet, validiert und optimiert, um den Besten auszuwählen. Unterschiedliche Algorithmen haben unterschiedliche Anforderungen an die Datenrepräsentation, weshalb die Data Preparation Phase häufig angepasst und erneut durchlaufen werden muss.

Data Science Loop – Evaluation

In dieser Phase wird ein Modell geprüft, dass während der Modeling Phase eine hohe Güte erreicht hat. Bevor ein Modell in den produktiven Einsatz kommt, ist es notwendig, die Erstellung des Modells gründlich zu evaluieren und die Modelle unabhängig zu testen, um sicherzustellen, dass es im Deployment die erwartete Güte erreichen wird und die ursprünglichen Businessprobleme tatsächlich löst.

Data Science Loop – Deployment

Im Deployment werden die Projektergebnisse in bestehende Unternehmensabläufe integriert. Ein Projekt ohne diese Integration bringt keinen Nutzen. Das Deployment kann technisch zum Beispiel über Webservices oder mit einer komplexeren Big Data Lösung umgesetzt werden. Ein Deployment sollte auch die Bereitstellung möglicher Endbenutzerschnittstellen für die Kontrolle der im Hintergrund ablaufenden Data Science Algorithmen beinhalten.

Social Integration – Gain Acceptance

Eine Lösung bringt nur dann Nutzen, wenn sie auch genutzt wird. Da die Verwendung von Data Science Techniken das im Predictive Mindset beschriebene Umdenken erfordert, stoßen sie vielfach auf Ablehnung. Während dieser Projektphase werden die Endbenutzer mit Schulungen in die Lage versetzt, aktiv am Projekt teilzuhaben, eigene Impulse zu setzen und Vertrauen in die verwendeten Data Science Techniken zu gewinnen. Dies umfasst vor allem die praktische Integration in die Arbeitsabläufe der Endanwender. Wichtig ist, dem Endanwender die Kontrolle zu überlassen, um Abstoßungsreaktionen zu verhindern.

Social Integration – Monitor Acceptance

Ein Data Science Projekt ist nach dem ersten Deployment noch nicht beendet. Zum einen können die Prädiktionen vielfach noch verbessert werden, was im Data Science Loop zum Ausdruck kommt, zum anderen gewinnen die Endanwender Erfahrung mit der Technik und können die ursprünglichen Use Cases nachschärfen. Dies führt häufig dazu, dass Spezifikationen angepasst werden müssen, was sowohl die Integration in die Arbeitsabläufe als auch die für die Prädiktion notwendigen Gütekriterien betrifft. Entsprechend müssen die Anwender weiterhin von einem Data Scientist begleitet werden, was in dieser Phase zum Ausdruck kommt.