Statistics Extension

RapidMiner is one of the best tools for predictive modelling and the automation of data processing. The versatile platform covers all phases of a typical data science project: It allows to gather data from various sources, to process it and to store it in other target systems. The ability to derive predictive models and apply them during the data processing enables you to automatically make decisions and act on them; potentially without any human interaction. But if manual interaction is necessary for trust building or regulatory reasons, the built in Web Application framework allows to create specialized web applications for end users, perfectly hiding the necessary complexity of predictive analytics. In many scenarios, this allows to reduce the manual work load, improves the reaction time and reduces error rates.

However, this modern and sophisticated approach often needs to be teamed up with a more common and well-established approach. If users need to be convinced of a new solution, especially if it embraces a completely new way of thinking, it should not abandon known principles and experiences of said users, but happily incorporate them, use them and complement them. In many situations, basic statistical functionality like tests for distributions and other methods of classical statistics have been used to accomplish goals that nowadays can be accomplished much more easily with predictive analytics. RapidMiner by itself does however not cover both, requiring a complex combination of tools for a soft migration. Fortunately, we have now provided a remedy with our statistics extension.

FEATURES

Descriptive Statistics

  • Extract Cross Table
  • Discretize by Quantiles
  • Extract Quantiles
  • Extract Histogram
  • Correlation Matrix (Pearson)
  • Correlation Matrix (Kendalls tau-b)
  • Correlation Matrix (Spearman)
  • Covariance Matrix
  • Extract Odds Ratios
  • Extract Risk Ratios
  • Extract and Visualize Survival Curves (Kaplan-Meier, Flemming-Harrington)
  • Extract and Visualize Hazard Curves (Nelson-Aalen)

Tests

  • T-Test (against expectation)
  • T-Test
  • Mann Whitney U-Test
  • Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
  • One Way ANOVA Test
  • One Way ANOVA Test (Grouping)
  • G-Test
  • Chi Square Test
  • Kolmogorov Smirnov Test

Tools

  • Matrix to ExampleSet
  • Split Data (by groups)

The Extension

The Statistics Extension for RapidMiner provides a full new set of operators covering basic statistical functionality. The operators can be neatly integrated with any RapidMiner process, so that you can use tests and correlations as well as quantile, histogram and cross tables in WebApps, Scheduled Processes and any other context without having to integrate external programs that increase the maintenance effort and make processes far too complex.

The full feature list is available on the right. In general, it covers all steps from the data preprocessing for typical statistical algorithms like e.g. grouping the data to the algorithms and operators to transform their results into something that can be incorporated into reports and WebApps.

Of course all operators can be used together with standard operators and are using standard data tables as in- and output. This allows easy integration in existing processes and several operators like the Split Data (by groups) come in handy even if you don't want to perform tests or the similar tasks.

Areas of Application

As you can see above, the operators of this extension are roughly grouped into three categories: One set of operators is for preparing data for the other operators or further processing, a large set of operators is for describing a data set and another one is for testing hypotheses on data.

The descriptive operators can be used to easily create a description of a certain data set, building a bridge from the raw data to the end user that might use a Web Application to view it. It has never been this simple to create a cross table, and thanks to the interactive components in RapidMiner's Web Apps, the end user can select what is counted himself, creating a self service description. In the same way, histograms and quartiles can be added where necessary.

But cross tables, quantiles and histograms are not only useful to present to the user. Together with the tests, they can be used very well in many automated scenarios, for example during data import. Especially in areas where manual steps are involved in the data import, the investment into sanity checks BEFORE the actual import is from our experience well spent. All operators for cross table, quantiles and histograms deliver the results as standard data sets, so that you can base any subsequent check for similarity on them. For example, you could compute the quantiles of each attribute of a reference data set storing sensor data. Each day a scheduled process will import the newest data, but before doing so, a sanity check is performed by calculating the quantiles and comparing them with the reference data. If a sensor is broken and now delivers wrong data, these quantiles will heavily be distributed. The process could abort the import of flawed data and instead inform someone of the problem via email.

Another interesting application is to evaluate the results of predictive modelling projects. In many situations, it is very hard to find the right performance measure, reflecting the real business value perfectly and taking the time axis into account. You will nearly always need to go for an approximation, as the business value cannot be calculated exactly. (Especially not if it is the future business value, being another predictive analytics by its own.) And if you set your predictive model active and act on its recommendations, you will always have the problem that this changes reality and your original training data is not representative for the problem anymore.

So in many situation you will head for an A-B testing scenario where you treat customers differently to see how in reality and ex-post the model performed. Here the Survival and Hazard Curves related operators of the extension can become incredibly useful to describe the two groups over time.

Pricing

Users1-year subscription2-year subscriptionPerpetual License
1 named user€ 79€ 139€ 179
5 named users€ 329€ 569€ 749
Company license€ 750€ 1300€ 1700

Statistics Extension

RapidMiner gehört zu den besten Werkzeugen für Predictive Modelling und die automatisierte Datenverarbeitung. Die vielseitige Plattform besitzt Funktionalitäten für jede Phase eines typischen Data Science Projekts: Sie ermöglicht das Sammeln von Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen, die Verarbeitung und das Speichern in anderen Zielsystemen. Die Möglichkeit, Vorhersagemodelle während der Datenverarbeitung zu erzeugen und anzuwenden, ermöglicht es, Entscheidungen vollautomatisiert zu treffen und daraus folgende Prozesse einzuleiten, ohne das menschliche Interaktion notwendig ist. Ist eine Interaktion allerdings gewünscht, oder aus regulatorischen Gründen notwendig, kann das in RapidMiner Server integrierte Framework zur Erstellung von Webanwendungen genutzt werden, um spezialisierte Anwendungen für Endbenutzer zu erstellen. So können Endbenutzer mit den Prozessen interagieren und die volle Komplexität der Predictive Analytics nutzen, ohne sich selbst in die Thematik einarbeiten zu müssen. In vielen Szenarios können auf diese Weise die manuelle Arbeit verringert, die Reaktionszeit verkürzt und die Fehlerraten reduziert werden.

Diese moderne und fortschrittliche Technik muss dennoch oft durch bekannte und bewährte Methoden ergänzt werden. Deswegen integriert unsere Statistics Extension klassische, statistische Basisfunktionen, wie etwa Tests für Verteilungen oder Operatoren, welche die Berechnung von Korrelationsmatritzen ermöglichen in die Data Science Plattform RapidMiner. So wird ein fließender Übergang zwischen vertrauten und bewährten, statistischen Methoden und Predictive Analytics als moderner, auf Machine Learning aufbauender Technologie möglich.

Die Extension

Die Statistics Extension für RapidMiner stellt einen ganzen Satz neuer Operatoren zur Verfügung, die einfach in jeden beliebigen RapidMiner Prozess integriert werden können. So können statistische Tests und Korrelationen, ebenso wie Quantile, Histogramme oder Kontingenztabellen in Webanwendungen genutzt werden, ohne auf externe Statistikprogramme ausweichen zu müssen. Dadurch wird eine einfache Wartbarkeit der Prozesse und eine hohe Performanz gewährleistet.

Die Funktionalität der Extension umfasst alle Schritte von der Vorverarbeitung von Daten für typische statistische Analysealgorithmen bis hin zu Operatoren, welche die Ergebnisse so aufbereiten, dass sie in Webanwendungen angezeigt werden können.

Natürlich können alle Operatoren zusammen mit den Standardoperatoren von RapidMiner verwendet werden, da sie die normalen ExampleSets nutzen und über die gewohnten In- und Output Ports verfügen – so können Sie einfach in bereits vorhandene Prozesse integriert werden. Einige Operatoren, wie beispielsweise der „Split Data (by groups)“ Operator, erweisen sich auch außerhalb des statistischen Anwendungszweckes als nützlich.

Anwendungsbereiche

Wie Sie in der untenstehenden Liste der Operatoren sehen können, sind die Operatoren in drei Kategorien eingeteilt: die erste ist für deskriptive Zwecke vorgesehen, die nächste für das Testen von Hypothesen auf den Daten und die letzte dient der Datenvorverarbeitung.

Die deskriptiven Operatoren dieser Extension können verwendet werden, um auf einfache Weise eine Beschreibung eines bestimmten Datensatzes zu erstellen und so eine Brücke zwischen Rohdaten und Endbenutzer zu bauen, der eventuell eine Webanwendung benutzt, um sich eine Übersicht über die Daten zu verschaffen. Es war niemals so einfach, eine Kontingenztafel zu erzeugen und dank der interaktiven Komponenten der RapidMiner Webanwendung kann der Endbenutzer auswählen, welche Kombination von Merkmalsausprägungen für ihn interessant ist und so seine eigene Kontingenztabelle erstellen. Auf die gleiche Weise lassen sich Histogramme und Quantile hinzufügen, wo sie gewünscht werden.

Aber Kontingenztafeln, Quantile und Histogramme sind nicht nur nützlich, um dem Endbenutzer Ergebnisse zu präsentieren. Zusammen mit den statistischen Tests können sie sehr gut in automatisierten Szenarien verwendet werden, wie beispielsweise beim Datenimport. Besonders in Bereichen, wo manuelle Schritte für den Datenimport notwendig sind, zahlt es sich aus, die Qualität der Daten vor dem eigentlichen Import zu überprüfen. Alle Operatoren zum Erstellen von Kontingenztafeln, Quantilen und Histogrammen liefern Standarddatensätze, sodass Sie eine beliebige Überprüfung zum Vergleichen der Daten vornehmen können. Zum Beispiel können Sie die Quantile jedes Attributs eines Referenzdatensatzes eines Sensors berechnen. Jeden Tag werden durch einen zu einem festgelegten Zeitpunkt stattfindenden Prozess die neuesten Daten importiert, aber nur, wenn die Qualität der Daten den vorgegebenen Anforderungen entspricht. Sollte ein Sensor kaputtgehen und Daten von schlechter Qualität liefern, würden die Quantile stark von den Referenzdaten abweichen. Der Prozess kann dann den Import abbrechen und, anstatt defekte Daten zu importieren, per E-Mail über den ausgefallenen Sensor informieren.

Eine andere interessante Anwendung der Statistik Extension ist die Evaluierung der Ergebnisse aus Predictive Modelling Projekten. In vielen Situationen ist es sehr kompliziert, das richtige Gütekriterium zu wählen, das den echten Business Wert widerspiegelt. Fast immer ist eine Schätzung notwendig, da der Business Wert nicht exakt berechnet werden kann. Sobald ein prediktives Modell angewendet wird und Sie auf seine Vorschläge hin handeln, hat dies einen Einfluss auf die Realität und sie werden das Problem haben, dass Ihre Originaltrainingsdaten nicht mehr repräsentativ sind.

Deshalb werden Sie in den meisten Fällen ein A-B-Testszenario wählen, in dem Kunden unterschiedlich behandelt werden, um zu beobachten, wie das Modell in der Realität und Ex-Post funktioniert. Hierbei können die Survival und Hazard Curves unglaublich nützlich werden, um die zwei Gruppen über die Zeit zu beschreiben.

Liste der Operatoren

Tests

  • T-Test (against expectation)
  • T-Test
  • Mann Whitney U-Test
  • Wilcoxon Signed Rank Test
  • One Way ANOVA Test
  • One Way ANOVA Test (Grouping)
  • G-Test
  • Chi Square Test
  • Kolmogorov Smirnov Test

Tools

  • Matrix to ExampleSet
  • Split Data (by groups)

 

Descriptive Statistics

  • Extract Cross Table
  • Discretize by Quantiles
  • Extract Quantiles
  • Extract Histogram
  • Correlation Matrix (Pearson)
  • Correlation Matrix (Kendalls tau-b)
  • Correlation Matrix (Spearman)
  • Covariance Matrix
  • Extract Odds Ratios
  • Extract Risk Ratios
  • Extract and Visualize Survival Curves (Kaplan-Meier, Flemming-Harrington)
  • Extract and Visualize Hazard Curves (Nelson-Aalen)

 

Lizenzkosten

Anzahl Nutzer1-Jahresabo2-Jahresabounbefristete Lizenz
1 benannter Benutzer79 €139 €179 €
5 benannte Benutzer329 €569 €749 €
Firmenlizenz750 €1300 €1700 €

Haben Sie Fragen, Kritik oder Anmerkungen zu unserer Extension?

Nehmen Sie gern Kontakt mit uns auf.


Mit dem Klicken auf "Senden" bestätigen Sie, dass Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben und akzeptieren.